Okay so let’s set the record straight about the difference between My Drive and Shared Drive!
A shared drive is a shared space that allows teams to store, search, and access files anywhere from any device. Unlike My Drive, Shared Drive belongs to an entire team instead of one Individual.
7 Differences between My Drive and Shared Drive
|SN||MY DRIVE||SHARED DRIVE|
|1||Who can add files?||The person who owns My drive||Any member with contributor access or higher|
|2||Who owns the files and folders?||The Individual who created the file or folder|| |
|3||Can I move files?||Yes|
Yes, if you are the owner of the file and have the role of Manager, Content Manager, or Contributor in the shared drive.
|4||What types of files can I add?||All types of flies|
All file types (except Google Maps and Data Studio reports).
|5||Sharing?||Different users might see different files in a folder, depending on their access to individual files.|
All members of the shared drive see all files.
|6||How long do deleted files stay in trash?||Files in the My Drive trash folder are not automatically deleted and can be restored.||Each shared drive has its own trash. Only members with the role of Manager or Content Manager can delete files. After 30 days, all files/folders in the trash are deleted permanently. Members with the role of Manager, Content Manager, or Contributor can restore shared drive content from Trash.|
|7||Can I restore files?||Yes, if you created the file.|
Yes, if you have the role of Manager, Content Manager, or Contributor in the shared drive.
Did you know?
Hapaweb Solutions is an authorized Google G Suite partner in Ghana where you can purchase any of the Google G Suite Packages ie. Basic, Business, and Enterprise. At Hapaweb we also provide all forms of support services to ensure you get the best out of the G Suite.